Grief and Loss

Grief can be defined as an emotion experienced by those who have lost something or someone they loved or cared for. This is a normal emotion and works as a mechanism to come to terms with the emptiness created by the absence of something or someone. It is not easy to comprehend grief. However, a counsellor is the perfect person to help you overcome it and function as you normally would. Grief and loss counselling can help you today.

Grief and loss impacts us all differently

Grief affects us all differently and different people handle grief differently. However, some common reactions include the following:

  • Frequent crying
  • Stress, anxiety, exhaustion, confusion
  • Shock, denial, numbness
  • Feeling sad or down
  • Physical health problems—headaches, changes in sleeping or eating patterns
  • Feeling or acting differently to usual
  • Isolation, loneliness and withdrawal
  • Guilt, anger, shame, blame or relief
  • Increased smoking, drug or alcohol use
  • Not enjoying what you love doing
  • Problems with personal relationships or tension

The process of grief

The process of grieving goes through five levels that start with denial and ends with acceptance. The stages—denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance are known as the stages of grief.

Denial shows up as a way of temporarily coping with what has happened. This move can either be conscious or a natural instinct to deny reality. However, there are people who don’t move from this stage. A counselor becomes a crucial person during such a time.

The anger stage is also normal and a natural reaction. Anger may sometimes be displaced since it is at this point that someone experiences feelings of denial.
False hope that the lost may be returned comes in at the bargaining stage. This is a stage people should try to overcome since the hope they cling onto is false. You will experience more grief when the false hope cannot be met.

Depression is the fourth stage of grief and it involves slow and gradual acceptance of reality. It is advisable no to cheer up a person at this stage of grief. This is the time he/she should be allowed to process and come to terms with the sad reality. If a person is stuck in this stage for a prolonged time then help should come from a counselor.

Acceptance is the last stage of grief and this is where a person fully accepts the reality of the loss. An individual is able to cope with great grief he/she is feeling as soon as he realizes that life may never be the same.

You can either be overwhelmed by the pain of grieving or avoid it completely. You’ll know that you need professional grief and loss counselling when it starts getting in the way of how you normally live your life. If the grief turns out to be long-term then seek counselling from iCounselling immediately. If ignored it can put your mental, physical and emotional health at risk.

Grief and Loss Counselling

Understanding that the loss and the memories are permanent can help you overcome grief. You should also cherish the great memories formed before the loss.

It is important to understand that no human can handle the full brunt of loss at once. Everyone needs help. iCounselling helps you get through the above mentioned stages of grief with grief and loss counselling.

There is always help available

At Qualified Counsellors we are here to walk along side you and support you through your loss. Our highly skilled counsellors are waiting to support you today. From just $65 it's a small investment for your long term health and wellbeing.
Start Counselling